CURRENTLY READING: 1Q84

If anyone from school wonders why I’m about to fail (perhaps not fail, but maybe scrape through) my mock GCSE exams, their answer is this trilogy. I look at my pile of revision, the procrastinator within emerges from the depths of my soul, and I turn to page 394. *sorry Harry Potter fandom – I’m actually on page 630*

Even though I haven’t even finished book two of the trilogy, I know that my final review will give 1Q84 five stars. So far, it’s all been so incredible that whatever Murakami springs onto me next, I’ll be able to forgive him. Probably. Unless he decides to render my heart unusable, by weaving in one of those I-know-that-it’s-inevitable-but-I’ll-pray-fervently-anyway plot twists.

However, a slight issue that I have with this novel so far is the fact that I’m skim reading it. Not consciously – I only do that with school-related reading – but every time I immerse myself in the 1Q84 universe, I get an insatiable urge to read read read until I get to the very end, thus completely forgetting some of the more profound aspects, and ignoring Marukami’s wonderful way of weaving worlds.

I was so proud of that piece of alliteration. Don’t put me down.

I don’t think that I’m quite qualified to give you a total plot synopsis, but it’s basically about how Aomame (a physiotherapist-cum-assassin who is my woman crush all week) and Tengo (a maths teacher-cum-novelist who is adorable) are catapulted from 1984 to 1Q84 – an alternate universe. I don’t want to divulge any more secrets , but there’s a weird-ass religion/cult, the weird-ass Little People, and the general weird-ass-ness of their universe. And I’m loving it – what makes it even better are the references to Orwell’s 1984.

“Right. And after you do something like that, the everyday look of things might seem to change a little. Things may look different to you than they did before. I’ve had that experience myself. But don’t let appearances fool you. There is always only one reality.”

READ IT. That’s all I can say.

Apologies for the awfulnesss of this particular post, but I am genuinely revising *coughs*, to reassure those of you out there who are concerned about my education. Because you’re the only ones. Anyway, I promise that I’ll be back to my usual stellar standard in three weeks time 🙂

4 thoughts on “CURRENTLY READING: 1Q84

  1. I am in the process of reading this. I had to put it down. Large books always intimidate me. I got through The Game of Thrones series, but am having difficulty reading it completely. I got to about page 200 and put it down but, I plan to complete it by the end of the month. I really like it, but I don’t know what it is that is keeping me from fully indulging in it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean – I bought the edition that was books one and two combined unwittingly! However, by a certain point I was thoroughly engrossed and I can’t put it down. And if you can read the Game of Thrones series, I reckon you can get through anything… 🙂

      Like

      1. It’s honestly an incredible read once you get engrossed – what I normally do when I get stuck with a book is completely start over and read it afresh.

        Like

Leave a Reply

