LOOK! BOOK HAUL!

Although I’ve currently got my nose to the grindstone, I wanted to show you guys my book haul that I picked up at a car boot sale today. Eight books! For three pounds! I’m overjoyed! Although now I have to make another Ikea trip in order to accommodate them all – I hate having books in piles on the floor. But eight books! Eight!

Crime and Punishment by Fyodor Dostoevsky

I’m so happy that I got my hands on this baby book, because I’m slowly becoming a lover of Russian literature, and this has been on my to-read list for ages.

The Turn of the Screw and The Aspern Papers by Henry James

Don’t know why I bought this, but I vaguely recalled seeing ‘The Turn of the Screw’ on a display in a classroom. I don’t even like ghost stories, but for 50 pence, it was worth it.

Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne

I liked the film. Don’t judge. I also liked Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea.

One Man in Havana by Graham Greene

I like Graham Greene.

On Green Dolphin Street and A Fool’s Alphabet by Sebastian Faulks

Never read anything by Faulks before – not even Birdsong *gasps of horror* – but I figured that I should do, because I may be seeing him at the Bath Literature Festival. Fingers crossed.

A Hero of Our Time by Mikhail Lermontov

ANOTHER RUSSIAN! I only bought it because it was Russian, and on the blurb it was described as ‘the first example of the psychological novel in Russia’. SOLD. I also found out that my dad has a thing for Russian works, which actually shocked me. This is a guy who hordes Lee Child, John Grisham and Chris Ryan. Not expected.

The Hunchback of Notre-Dame by Victor Hugo

I like Les Mis. The musical, anyway – I haven’t got onto the book yet. I also liked the Disney adaptation of it. *cringes*

Have you read any of these? Any thoughts?

 

 

2 thoughts on “LOOK! BOOK HAUL!

  1. Great haul! I read C&P last year and loved it. Also that’s given me a nudge to dig out some Henry James – I keep meaning to read some but other books keep leapfrogging to the top of my tbr pile. Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you – I have some doubts with ploughing into Crime and Punishment because I’ve heard that it’s quite hard to read and keep track of the characters etc, but I couldn’t resist it for fifty pence!

      Like

Leave a Reply

