BOOK /PLAY HAUL

Look! More plays! I’m going through a phase where I’m reading more scripts than I am actual books in preparation for my project this summer, so be warned. I’m such a nerd that I spent yesterday night analysing scripts for fun, whilst literally all my friends were getting drunk at a party. At least I’ll be prepared for A Level English Lit…

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by Shakespeare

My dad already has this, but I don’t think he’d appreciate annotations all over it. His version is super fancy, and he’d flay me alive.

Is this a dagger which I see before me? Penguin Little Black Classics, collection of Shakespeare’s soliloquies

OH YES. THERE ARE NEW EDITIONS OF THE LITTLE BLACK CLASSICS! Alas, they’re no longer 80p (prices range from £1 – £2), but the books are a lot longer. This purchase made my day – I no longer need to lug big-ass copies of plays around.

The Oresteian Trilogy by Aeschylus

I was told that I should read as much Greek as possible, so here I am.

Chehov Plays by Chekhov, obviously

Five different plays for two pound fifty? Hell yeah. Albeit this edition is rather battered, I’m not fussy.

The Crucible by Arthur Miller

I’ve heard wonderful things about The Crucible, and although I’ve never seen it, I’m looking forward to reading it.

Have you read/seen any of these plays? If so, I’d love to hear your opinion!

 

 

2 thoughts on “BOOK /PLAY HAUL

    1. I haven’t explained it anywhere yet… it hasn’t been finalised yet, but all I’m saying is theatre, direction and Shakespeare… I’ll reveal more in a future post after it’s all been confirmed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

