Shakespeare Challenge 1: Romeo & Juliet

Romeo and Juliet is over and done with. I didn’t have the urge to impale myself on a sharpened stake whilst I was reading it, so that’s a bonus. Instead, it’s after reading it that I want to turn myself into a macabre human kebab.

Romeo is not exactly the most captivating text to read – for me, anyway. Give me suicide, give me anguish, but please don’t give me a teenage love story that has a gangland feud . I get enough of that type of drama at school, and I don’t want the pains of puberty’s passions interfering with my literary life. I kept seeking refuge in other texts, and I’m now currently reading the Oresteian Trilogy (I’m halfway through Agamemnon), Kafka’s The Trial, and I’m still shunting through A Hero of Our Time. Seriously, I get guilt trips whenever I log into Goodreads.

Yes, Romeo and Juliet was good. But anyone would say that. It was what I expected, but didn’t fill me with fire, and I wasn’t in a hurry to finish it – so I meandered my sorry path through. Maybe I’ll enjoy it when I’m not stressed, or spending every daylight hour revising, or would much rather be cracking on with the Greeks.

Your opinions on Romeo and Juliet? Have you seen a particularly brilliant production? Feel free to give me a shout!

(Don’t forget that you can now follow me on Twitter for daily snippets of wisdom, @izzydigg)

2 thoughts on “Shakespeare Challenge 1: Romeo & Juliet

  1. Romeo and Juliet is not my favourite Shakespeare play, but for some reason it is my favourite ballet. If you ever get a chance to watch Prokofiev’s version of R&J (it’s the one with the “Apprentice music”) then I definitely recommend it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

