The Candy Book Tag

I was nominated to do this by the lovely Always Opinionated Girl, and many thanks to you for motivating me to look up from the revision guides and get some blogging done!

Guidelines:
  • When you are tagged, please thank the blogger who tagged you!
  • No one is obligated to participate, even if they are tagged.
  • If you decide to participate, answer the questions and then tag 5 other bloggers.
  • Please notify the people you’ve selected when they are tagged!

Apples – ah. It was deep, meaningful, probably won a lot of awards but, um, it really isn’t your thing.

I haven’t been reading many ‘popular’ books of late (you know the ones; always photographed on pretty bedspreads, with a Polaroid and fairy lights), and the only one that I can vaguely remember was The Fault in Our Stars. It was bearable, but I didn’t really get the hype surrounding it. *grunts*

Black Jellybeans – why do these exist?

There’s only one type of book that deserves to be in this category, and that’s (auto)biographies by ‘reality TV stars’, who have managed to make a living by closely resembling a Wotsit and having the same mental capacity. OH AND GHOST WRITTEN BOOKS. NO. NO! I was incredibly close to putting my GCSE Poetry Anthology in this category, but I realised that I didn’t hate it that much.

Chocolate Kisses – aww… This novel had the best romance!

I’m trying to survey my bookshelf from here, because I haven’t read a really romantic-y book for yonks, but I have the eyesight of a blind nocturnal mole rat who’s suddenly emerged into full daylight. I’m going to say The Lovely Bones, because although heart-wrenchingly weepy at times, I vaguely remember some warm and fuzzy bits, despite the horrific murder. As I said, it’s been a while since I’ve read a romance. I think the only ‘romantic’ books I own are by Wendy Holden, and they’re more riotous than romantic.

Gummy Spiders – eek! You had to check under your bed every night for a week after reading this scary one.

The Turn of the Screw by Henry James was the first, and only, scary book that I’ve read. Hell, I didn’t even finish it. I’m a complete wimp, and living in a large, ancient house doesn’t help the ambience either. It was a good book, but I’m going to have to confine it to daylight hours only.

Jumbo Lollipop – this took you ages to get through, but hey! You finished it!

Catch-22 was a long slog to get absorbed in. It took me multiple attempts, but when I finally sussed the plot and collected the various brain cells necessary to keep track of everything, it was brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. Brilliant! If you like satire, that is. I’m in the mood to re-read it now, actually. I would if my TBR pile wasn’t perilously leaning.

Cotton Candy – Admit it, you loved this when you were younger (you probably still do). Think children’s or MG fiction.

Anything by Enid Blyton. ANYTHING. St Clare’s, Malory Towers, The Famous Five, The Wishing Chair, The Magic Faraway Tree. Stimulating plot-lines (please remember that I was seven), magic, and a jolly old gung-ho attitude. What wasn’t there to love? I read the lot – I still own most of them now, actually.  Ditto Rupert annuals. The main difference is that I’m still an active collector of Rupert annuals. *blushes*

My nominees:

As you may have noticed, I’m not as active now because EXAMS! 16 May and RE Ethics is ominously looming (along with the rest of my GCSE exams), and so I’m concentrating all my efforts on them. However, in two months it’ll all be over, and I can once again be buried nose-deep in a book that isn’t a revision guide. Whoop! So please bear with while I struggle to get my brain cells into gear, and before either of us know it the stress will subside and I’ll be back to my usual blogging schedule. Not that I had one in the first place… x

5 thoughts on “The Candy Book Tag

Leave a Reply

