I’M DONE WITH OMAM!

Of Mice and Men is over. I don’t have to look at that bloody book again. I would burn it, but I believe that Steinbeck’s work needs to be respected, despite the fact that I’d rather be force-fed the pages than study it again.

Contrary to popular opinion, I thought that the exam was a nightmare. Not so much the questions, but my own answers were awful. Awful. I’m not going to dwell on the past, and celebrate the fact that Of Mice and Men is banished from my life.

An Inspector Calls is a brilliant play, and luckily, GCSE English Literature hasn’t driven me to the pit of despair with this particular tome. I still managed to cock up my answer though. Alas.

I hated Of Mice and Men while I studied it. I still hate it. It’s my least favourite of Steinbeck’s books (Cannery Row sitting on the top spot), and I! am! so! done!

I don’t even care that my exam is the essay equivalent that something’s that just crawled out of a hole and died. In the words of Robert Icke (I was seeking solace in sugar and Vanya post-nightmare, okay), it took me ‘several failed attempts to articulate what I meant’, and in the end, I didn’t even get to articulate what I meant anyway, because I ran out of bloody time. Ah well.

10 thoughts on “I’M DONE WITH OMAM!

    1. I have no objection to the actual book (when I first read it, I thought it was beautiful); rather, the way in which it was taught. I felt that I was very much force-fed what to regurgitate in the exam, and eventually I’d just had enough. I like to make up my own mind about things, and being forced to read and re-read passages and analyse them with such intensity irritated me to such an extent that I ended up disliking OMAM.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, that I understand. As an English teacher, I try to stay on the right side of the line between analysis and over-analysis. And I have no interest in anyone regurgitating anything. Have an idea; defend it. That should be all.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Couldn’t agree more. Loved OMAM as a book, less so as a result of rather monotonous study. The questions were fine themselves but my answers left much to be desired. On the bright side, Happy World Turtle Day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

