To Be Read: Hawthorne, Hardy, and Vampires

I spent a productive morning sifting through bookcases, and arranging the books that I’ve bought in a frenzied passion (and promptly discarded) into a pile. A very large pile. Positively treacherous – I’m five foot seven-ish, and it stands halfway up my thigh. If that thing falls down, the floor will probably go with it, along with my allowance for the next twenty years.

I’ve realised how much my reading tastes have changed. I still love fantasy, Murakami-esque novels, but I was ecstatic when I realised that my dad has an obsession with history. I don’t quite understand why – I’ve never been a particular fan of history – but I’ll roll with my whims. And finding books around the house saves me buying new ones… I’ve pinched borrowed two books by Winston Churchill, one on Ancient Greece, another on Ancient Egypt and  another on the Tudors, all in the space of this morning, and I’ve barely scratched the surface of the abyss.

So here’s the lowdown on some of the books included in my leaning tower of tomes:

The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne

I DON’T KNOW WHY I HAVEN’T READ THIS YET. It’s been lingering since November 2015. November 2015! The cover is pretty. It’s a new book. The plot sounds interesting. I don’t know. Perhaps it’s my sheer laziness.

Two Short Accounts of Psycho-Analysis by Sigmund Freud

Yeah. Again, another apparently totally random book from my dad’s collection. Rather than not knowing why I’m not reading it, I’m wondering why I’ve suddenly decided to read it. Other than a vague knowledge of who Freud is, I’ve not read anything of his before, and I don’t know anything of his teachings or methodology. Should be in for a roller-coaster…

Dracula by Bram Stoker

Don’t shoot me. I have never read Dracula, or seen any vampire movies (bar when Livi was going through a Twilight obsession, and forced me to watch every single one of those God-forsaken films), because I’m a wimp. The only vampire film that I’ve ever had a vague inclination towards was one that was on TV last night, about a  clan of lesbian vampires who enslave a bus-load of hot Swedish girls. Now that’s one hell of a storyline. I want to read this because I’ve liked previous Gothic books that I’ve read, and Dracula is the epitome of Goth. It probably won’t top the lesbian vampires, but I hope it does.

Tess of the D’Ubervilles by Thomas Hardy

I should read this one, because I have a niggling feeling that we study it at A-Level English Lit. I’ve already had one shot at this book, but it was just a little bit ooh-argh-Farmerrrr-Jawwwwnnn for me. I liked it, but found it hard to be emotionally invested in the characters, so I dropped it. Let’s hope that a) I don’t have to read it for next year, or b) I have more patience with it next time round. Sadly, both of those options are as remote as being kidnapped by lesbian vampires.

These four were at the top of the pile, and I couldn’t be bothered to risk pulling out any more – it would be like playing a lethal game of Jenga.

What books are on your TBR list/pile/floor?

 

12 thoughts on “To Be Read: Hawthorne, Hardy, and Vampires

  1. ‘Dracula’ is amazing! It’s not as scary as I thought it was going to be (which was a little disappointing), but I really enjoyed the form of the novel (told through diary entries and letters) and I can appreciate that it was probably a terribly frightening story at the time it was written.
    I had to study ‘Tess’ for A-level. I wasn’t a bit fan to be honest. I don’t really enjoy Hardy’s writing style and Tess’ character really frustrated me. It got a bit more interesting when we analysed it during class though, but I have to say, since then I’ve pretty much stayed away from Hardy’s novels. Love to hear what you think of it though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m looking forward to Dracula now… but I’ve just got my teeth into Pullman’s His Dark Materials (again…), so I reckon it’ll be a while now before I start it… Whoops!

      Like

Leave a Reply

