My Biggest Book Haul Yet!

The other day I got my reading list for English Literature next year (which, may I add is fantastic – American Psycho! Dorian Gray! Brave New World! Othello!), so I went on an ‘educational’ book buying spree. Out of the sixteen or so I bought, I only need one for the course… But damn, was this good value. Sixteen books for ten pounds – long live charity shops.

Penguin Classics Banned Books Collection

I would like to thank the angel who forced me out of bed, trundled me in to Swindon and on a whim, made me decide to go to the Prospect Hospice book store. Purchasing this collection is the bibliophile’s equivalent of snorting a line of cocaine, but at a significantly cheaper price and with less damage to one’s health. Equally as addictive, alas. I seriously thought that I’d read the price tag wrong – twelve books for a fiver? For once, my terrible eyesight was not deceiving me, and thus I picked up the bargain of the century – its original retail price was around £95. Included are gems such as A Clockwork Orange (the only book that I bought today that I actually need for next year), Lolita, The Master and Margarita, and One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich, and I am so excited (even now) because many of these have been on my TBR for yonks, and I finally have my own copies! This summer will be fantastic. Do you think I could use this collection as a reason to why I can’t go out?

The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan

I don’t know why I bought this. I don’t need any more books. I thought that I’d heard of it from a film with Colin Firth, but I don’t know any more. It won the Man Booker a couple of years ago, so in theory it should be pretty good.

All My Sons by Arthur Miller

I’d like to take this opportunity to thank the volunteer – not that he’s reading this, but I’ll thank him anyway – who didn’t bat an eyelid when I burst in (for the second time that day), said ‘Death of a Salesman’ and walked off. I love Arthur Miller, I love plays, and this looked interesting. I can’t even remember what it’s about.

The Three Theban Plays by Sophocles

Greek, so I bought it.

The Bacchae and Other Plays by Euripides

GREEK! I’m doing the Extended Project Qualification in Sixth Form (EPQ), where we can do a project on anything we want, and I’m thinking about doing mine about Greek theatre. This means that I can justify to myself, my parents, and my bank account that it’s okay to spend lots of money on beautiful books.

It’s not okay. I went shopping today (again) and the only thing that I bought was a book. I’m so tired.

 

2 thoughts on “My Biggest Book Haul Yet!

  1. The Narrow Road to the Deep North is one of the best books I’ve read. I would’ve said it is also my best read in 2016,but I’ve just finished Schindler’s Ark……another unforgettable Booker Prize winner.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve not yet finished Narrow Road to the Deep North (my A Level reading list is getting in the way!), and it’s utterly different from anything else I’ve read before. You’ve just reminded me to get back into it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

