Even Bigger Holiday Book Haul

I’ve done it again. I told myself that I would save my money for something flashy. Something that won’t take up much space, like a new phone, or a new fish tank (yes, tanks are space taker-uppers, but there’s a twenty gallon that I’ve got my eye on). Instead, I go on holiday for five days, leave with five books, and come back with fifteen. Only two of which are on the lengthy Reading List.

Capitalised because it seems to have a life of its own. Every time I get close to a book shop where I might get my hands on a copy listed, it runs away, and I’m forced to spend my money on other tomes. Sigh.

Anyway, here’s my collection, the majority of which were purchased from The End, a secondhand book shop in Seaton, Devon. I’ll be doing a full review on it later, because damn, I’m prepared to move there just so I can get regular access to that fine establishment.

I’ve just realised that this post will get very, very long if I detail every book I purchased, so here’s some of my faves!

NW and On Beauty by Zadie Smith

I’d heard of Zadie Smith, and DEAR LORD ABOVE I LOVE HER WORK. Half a book in, and I’m already head-over-heels in love. Her writing style’s just so… different. Intriguing. Sometimes I get confused over who’s saying what, but I’ve got used to that now. Brilliant.

Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett 

I’ve always been intrigued by this. Not read it – or seen it – but meh.

AMERICAN PSYCHO BY BRETT EASTON ELLIS

Capitalised = much excitement. Thanks to the bookshop guy for spending fifteen minutes up a ladder trying to find this for me.

(yet another copy of) Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

A book that’s in my top five of all-time favourites, I needed another copy because my other one is literally falling apart. Like my social life. Like my entire life in general, to be honest.

For the rest of my haul, just look at the photo. God, I’m so lazy. I can’t even be bothered to type out some book titles. Sigh. I’m off now folks, but I’ll be back with a review tomorrow!

 

9 thoughts on “Even Bigger Holiday Book Haul

Leave a Reply

