Book Haul: William Blake (finally!) + others

When I first started book blogging, I saw all these other book bloggers with mountainous to-be-read piles, and I didn’t understand it. I simply didn’t get the point of buying books when you didn’t need them. How naive! Almost a year on, I’m back with another book haul, the majority of which I probably won’t read until next year. Or I’ll reject the books that I do need to read (Othello is giving me the evils as I type), and gamble with the wrath of my teachers next year.

Selected Poems by William Blake

I HAVE BEEN WAITING FOR THIS BOOK FOR A YEAR AND A HALF. I don’t have the money to buy all my books full-price, so I always wait for them to turn up in charity shops. And the wait was worth it! I was introduced to Blake’s work by an English teacher around a year ago, and fell in love pretty quickly. What I love most is that some of his poems are deceptively simple (think The Fly), but have a deeper, philosophical meaning. Still can’t quite believe that I’ve got this.

The Persians and Other Plays by Aeschylus (The Persians/Seven Against Thebes/The Suppliants/Prometheus Bound)

Oopsies. I really, really, shouldn’t have bought this. My drama shelf is groaning – as am I. I didn’t think that I wanted another Greek tragedy reading spree, but needs must as the devil calls. The devil’s more than calling; he’s cackling in the pits of Hell, after realising that all I have is £10 and a purse full of tumbleweed. I’ve only heard of one of the plays in this collection, but to be honest the only reason why I bought it was a) Aeschylus and b) theatre. And c) another book to deter me from The List.

Philosophy and Living by Olaf Stapledon

I have a strange fascination with philosophy, and this edition is pretty. That’s it.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

PRAISE THE LORD! I’ve been dashing around to find a copy of this on the cheap, and although this isn’t the prettiest of books (I get migraines just from looking at the spine), I’m happy that I’ve nearly bought all the books on The List. I’ve not read a lot by Sylvia Plath yet, but from what little of this novel I’ve flicked through so far, it looks pretty damn fine.

Have you read anything on this haul, or want to recommend anything in a similar vein? Drop me a line!

2 thoughts on “Book Haul: William Blake (finally!) + others

Leave a Reply

