Birthday Q & A

In honour of Thinking and Inking’s first birthday *bursts out the cake*, this is just a little celebratory Q & A post. (Thank you to all you lovely people – especially flawed silence and Girl Who Reads – who submitted questions and sent me birthday wishes!) I also wanted to emphasise the fact that I am alive and kicking, despite the facts that a) I have almost completely lost my voice, b) I’m drowning in literature (not that I’m complaining), and c) I’ve had an accidental blogging hiatus.

What’s your favourite type of blog to post?

I really love moaning posts (because in all honesty, that’s what I do best), but I often find that my thoughts melt into incoherent drivel, which is why I don’t do them very often. I also enjoy posts that inspire a conversation or ask questions, because I love talking with you guys.

What inspired you to start book blogging?

I first started on Blogger as a teen lifestyle blogger, but I quickly ran out of things to say, and I made the switch to WordPress and book blogging, because I can never run out of ideas with books!

That’s it. It’s a better way of saying it than ‘I like books and my friends give me weird looks when I start banging on about Into the Wild, so I force complete strangers to listen to my ramblings instead’.

What do you look for in a blog?

I love blogs that have a unique writing style, or make me laugh. I have a somewhat dubious (i.e. spontaneous/filthy/utterly incomprehensible) sense of humour, so if you crack that, you deserve a gold star. I also enjoy theatre blogs, creative writing and satirised politics.

And books.

How can other book bloggers attract your attention?

This question amused me because it makes me feel like it’s addressed to a ‘big’ blogger, when in reality I’m literally a sixteen year old girl whose blanket burrow makes her look like a giant burrito. To be honest, I would just say comment, or like, or follow, or email, or holler at me (@izzydigg) on Twitter, because a lot of the time I will stalk your account, find the picture of your celebrity crush that you liked seven months and three weeks ago, and then follow you back. Believe it or not, I can be quite socially awkward, so it’s unlikely that I will start a conversation, but start one with me, and you’re guaranteed a frolickin’, rollickin’ ride.

What is one piece of advice you’d give to us?

RE: Blogging: Don’t care about the stats.

RE: Education: It’s the pursuit of knowledge that counts and the fact that you’re living and learning, not three grades at the end.

RE: Life: Happiness comes first. Food and books, second.

I x

Leave a Reply

