In the Library

Your favourite piece of book trash now spends a vast amount of time in her school library, because I’m a sixth form student who’s decided that I actually need to get some work done. Despite the fact that there’s a wonderful common room (in all honesty, it’s only wonderful because of Pot Noodle making facilities and COFFEE COFFEE COFFEE), I prefer the library because it’s easier to pretend to myself that I’ve actually been productive. Anyway, I thought I’d share a couple of snippets into what a sixth former actually does in the library.

  • Drugs. Not that we sit behind the encyclopedias and pass a joint around, but today I had a brilliant talk with a friend about illegal substances, and probably terrified a Year 8 in the process. Said friend is a delightful, no-holds-barred hedonist (or would be if he had enough money to do so), and our conversation made us sound like we regularly sat in the bike sheds smoking weed and injecting heroin.In fact, we just have a startlingly good drugs awareness education – I go to a Catholic school, what else does one expect?  Sorry, Year 8 pupil, we are not that cool. At lunchtimes, all I actually do is the regular Tesco dash, or on rainy days, eat Pot Noodle and contemplate my existence and realise that we’re all going to die.
  • Tear up Twilight. Technically, this wasn’t me doing this, but our librarian was having a clear-out, and the most joyous thing for me was to watch her rip it to shreds. Damaging books is totally against my principles, but DEAR LORD some exceptions have to be made. A beautiful occasion.
  • Moan about work, but not actually do it. Yeah. Guilty as charged.
  • Moan.
  • Bitch fest. I know that that’s actually really mean, but there are days WHEN I AM TOTALLY NOT IN THE MOOD and I need someone to vent to.
  • Fix calculators. One of my friends wrecked his calculator, attempted to put it back together with novelty sticky tape, and then it promptly fell back apart.
  • Spanglish. I cannot speak Spanish to save my life, and I think that one of the reasons as to why I took it was because I, in theory, would then be able to seduce a Spanish senor with mysterious eyes and dark hair. In reality, I’m stumbling my way through the conditional tense and pluperfect and reflexive verbs and can talk about internet piracy and cyberbullying. Not exactly the most attractive topic of conversation.

So, if you’re wondering about what I do when I’m not blogging – which, sadly, is quite a lot of the time now – this is it.

Any others out there who are more productive than me? Teach me your ways! (and if you’re just like me, let me know because I need reassurance that I’m not alone)

Leave a Reply

