Book Haul: Greeks *screams*

My mum gave me a tenner to buy a school jumper with, which I promptly spent on books. I’m now going to spend this winter desperately wishing that my fingers don’t fall off, but it was so worth it, because a) I GOT A BARGAIN PRICE COPY OF THE ORESTEIA, and b) these are all technically books that I need for school, so in theory, she should be paying for them anyway. Okay mum?

Oresteia by Aeschylus (a new adaptation by Robert Icke)

I know for a fact that my dad has already bought me a new copy of this for Christmas (oh yes, we’re an organised family), but when you see the play of 2015 languishing on a charity shop shelf you don’t just leave it there. I lost my sh*t when I saw this in pristine condition (who the hell doesn’t annotate play texts?), and I’d like to profusely thank the Bath resident who evidently didn’t value it enough. I get excited just reading the damn thing.

The Greeks by H. D. F. Kitto

I’m doing an Extended Project (basically a long-ass essay) on Greek tragedy, and a bit of context never hurt anyone.

Alcestis and Other Plays by Euripides

Going through a bit of a Euripides phase right now. It’s addictive. In all honesty, I’m looking forward to the day when I’ve bought all the Greek plays that I physically can, because that means that I have a valid reason to resist buying them. I genuinely have no idea what any of these plays are about, but, y’know, it’s all Greek to me!

*chuckles softly*

Doctor Faustus by Christopher Marlowe

I blame Kit Harington getting his kit off in Jamie Lloyd’s production for this. Faustus sells his soul to Satan to learn the secrets of the universe (to be honest, I’d do it right now if it meant straight A*s), and he turns into a magician with the devil as his sidekick. Interesting plot, but viable? I’ll let you know how it goes.

So many books, so little time, and so many essays. See you on the other side.

4 thoughts on “Book Haul: Greeks *screams*

  1. I’ve literally just finished reading Doctor Faustus for my university course and it’s brilliant! I read the A Text as well, but if you need any advice I would suggest watching the play at the same time / listening to an audio book, it really helps as the language at times got a bit too confusing to me! But the storyline and characters are really interesting, I hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This was very much an impulse buy on my behalf (I don’t think I’ll be needing it for my A Levels, anyway!), but I’m looking forward to reading it. Thanks for your advice – I’m going to seek out a production of it online now! 🙂

      Like

  2. I loved reading’The Oresteia’ and ‘Dr Faustus’ at school, probably more than anything else I studied. I also read Kitto’s ‘The Greeks’ as one of my set texts for Classical civilisation A level. I must dig it out for a much overdue re-read. Happy days!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

